The African Trade Policy Institute (IPAC) aims to be a melting pot and a framework of excellence, quality and social and professional ethics and which offers a new opportunity and a new vision in training, coordination, cooperation and information on trade policies and international trade for Africa. It is also a framework for consultation and mediation between economic operators and for building the capacities of all those involved in trade policy.

Its basic objective is to help create a critical mass of intellectuals and qualified resource persons in Africa on international trade negotiations (WTO, EPA), on international trade rules, on market access for trade in services, market access for trade in goods, international competition, tariffs and subsidies, special and differential treatment (SDT) as well as trade-related technical assistance (TRTA). The harmonious integration of our continent into the multilateral trading system (MTS), as well as the need to reap the fruits of globalization, require the efficient appropriation and use of trade policy tools for development and in favor of of our populations.

In this context, the institute will offer not only classic training for graduates and students, but also continuous, targeted and specialized training for professionals in the public and private sectors. The IPAC will serve as a friendly and useful framework for organizing seminars, conferences and training workshops adapted to professional organizations, through continuing and continuing education and through specialized studies and research.

Thus, the Institute will make its contribution to support African States, on the one hand in the formulation and implementation of an innovative trade policy and, on the other hand, in the conduct of international trade negotiations in providing them with cutting-edge technical information and tools and enabling them to harmonize their positions and, above all, to make their participation in the multilateral trading system credible.

To accomplish its missions, the institute benefits from privileged partnerships with public, private and academic institutions located at national, regional and international level, and which work for the efficient implementation of trade policy in the service of sustainable development, fight against poverty and economic growth in Senegal, Africa and the world.

This is how the IPAC offers a range of highly qualified and innovative sectors which all revolve around the issue of trade policy and international trade to restore it to its place and rank as a tool and an economic instrument. efficient for development. These Sectors relate in particular to the management of development projects, the financing of trade and business policy, and trade facilitation. All these Streams will be taught from a three-fold national, regional and international perspective.

Finally, it should be noted that all IPAC actions will be part of a Quality approach built and applied using performance indicators and highly credible parameters. Teaching, recourse to and constant support for communication and information techniques (ICT), as well as the privileged place given to foreign languages ​​are significant indicators. These will tend to ensure the consistency of educational objectives with professional, ethical, patriotic and civil values ​​as known and applied in Senegal, Africa and the world.

Dr FALOU SAMB

L’institut Africain des Politiques Commerciales (IAPC) se veut comme un creuset et un cadre d’excellence, de qualité et d’éthique sociale et professionnelle et qui offre une nouvelle opportunité et une nouvelle vision dans la formation, la coordination, la coopération et l’information sur les politiques commerciales et le commerce international pour l’Afrique. Il est également un cadre consultatif et de médiation entre les opérateurs économiques et de renforcement des capacités de tous les acteurs de la politique commerciale.

Son objectif de base est de contribuer à créer une masse critique d’intellectuels et de personnes ressources qualifiées en Afrique sur les négociations commerciales internationales (OMC, APE), sur les règles du commerce international, sur l’accès aux  marchés pour le commerce des services, sur l’accès  aux marchés pour le commerce des marchandises, sur la concurrence internationale, sur les droits de douane et les subventions, sur le traitement spécial et différencié (TSD) ainsi que  l’assistance technique liée au commerce (ATLC). L’’intégration harmonieuse de notre continent dans le système commercial multilatéral (SCM), ainsi que la nécessité de récolter les fruits nés de la mondialisation passent par une appropriation et une utilisation efficientes des outils de la politique commerciale au service du développement et en faveur de nos populations.

Dans ce contexte, l’institut va offrir, non seulement une formation classique destinée aux bacheliers et étudiants, mais également une formation continue, ciblée et pointue aux professionnels des secteurs public et privé. L’IAPC va servir de cadre convivial et utile pour organiser des séminaires, des conférences  des ateliers de formation adaptés aux organisations professionnelles, à travers la formation continue et continuée et à travers les études et recherches spécialisées.

Ainsi, l’Institut va apporter sa contribution à l’appui aux Etats africains, d’une part dans la formulation et la mise en œuvre d’une politique commerciale innovante et, d’autre part, dans la conduite des négociations commerciales internationales en leur fournissant des informations et outils techniques pointus et en leur  permettant d’harmoniser leurs positions et, surtout, de crédibiliser leur participation au système commercial multilatéral.

Pour accomplir ses missions, l’institut bénéficie de partenariats privilégiés avec les institutions publiques, privées, académiques situées au niveau national, régional et international, et qui œuvrent  à la mise en place efficiente de la politique commerciale au service du développement durable, de la lutte contre la pauvreté et de la croissance économique  au Sénégal, en Afrique et dans le monde.

C’est ainsi que l’IAPC offre une gamme de filières hautement qualifiées et novatrices et qui tournent toutes autour de la problématique de la politique commerciale, et du commerce international pour lui redonner sa place et son rang d’outil et d’instrument économique efficient pour le développement. Ces Filières portent notamment sur la gestion des projets de développement, le financement de la politique commerciale et des entreprises, la facilitation des échanges. Toutes ces Filières seront enseignées sous une triple perspective à la fois nationale, régionale et internationale.

Enfin, il faut signaler que toutes les actions de l’IAPC vont s’inscrire dans une démarche Qualité construite et appliquée à l’aide d’indicateurs de performances et de paramètres hautement crédibles. L’enseignement, le recours et le support constant aux techniques de communication et d’information (TIC), ainsi que la place privilégiée faite aux langues étrangères en constituent des indicateurs significatifs. Ceux-ci vont tendre à assurer la mise en cohérence des objectifs pédagogiques avec les valeurs professionnelles, éthiques, patriotiques et civiles telles que connues et appliquées au Sénégal, en Afrique et dans le monde.

Dr FALOU SAMB